Follow the World Cup from past to present with 1800-WorldCup - Part of

2006 CONCACAF Qualification

1800-WorldCup World Cup Finals World Cup Qualifying European Football Fantasy Football World Football WWW

The World of Football: AFC - CAF - CONCACAF - CONMEBOL - OFC - UEFA.
Home: World Cup Finals: Germany 2006: CONCACAF Qualification

After the knockout rounds and first group stage, Costa Rica, Guatemala, Mexico, Panama, Trinidad & Tobago and United States qualified for the Final Group Stage.

2006 World Cup Qualifiers


CONCACAF - 2006 World Cup Qualifying

CONCACAF Qualification for the World Cup Finals in Germany 2006.

The top three teams of the final group of six qualify for Germany 2006 with the fourth-placed team entering a play-off place against a nation from Asia.

Confederation of North, Central American and Caribbean Association Football.

Initial Draw

Group 1:
Winner of (Grenada vs Guyana) vs USA.
Winner of (Bermuda vs Montserrat) vs El Salvador.
Winner of (Haiti vs Turks & Caicos) vs Jamaica.
Winner of (British V.I. vs St. Lucia) vs Panama.

USA, El Salvador, Jamaica, Panama.
USA and Panama move on.

Group 2:
Winner of (Cayman Islands vs Cuba) vs Costa Rica.
Winner of (Aruba vs Suriname) vs Guatemala.
Winner of (Antigua vs Dutch Antilles) vs Honduras.
Winner of Canada vs Belize.

Costa Rica, Guatemala, Honduras, Canada.
Costa Rica and Guatemala move on.

Group 3:
Winner of (Dominica vs Bahamas) vs Mexico.
Winner of (US Virgin Islands vs St. Kitts and Nevis) vs Barbados.
Winner of (Dominican Republic vs Anguilla) vs Trinidad & Tobago.
Winner of Nicaragua vs St. Vincent and Grenadines.

Mexico, St. Kitts, Trinidad, St. Vincent.
Mexico and Trinidad & Tobago move on.

Final Group Stage

Costa Rica, Guatemala, Mexico, Panama, Trinidad & Tobago, USA.

Saturday, 3rd September 2005:
For the first time since 1934, USA became the first CONCACAF team to qualify for a FIFA World Cup™ as they progressed to Germany 2006 after posting a 2-0 victory over visiting Mexico - on Match Day 7 of the CONCACAF Final Round - at Crew Stadium in Columbus, Ohio.

Last Three Games

Wednesday, 7th September 2005:
Costa Rica vs Trinidad & Tobago (2-0)
Mexico vs Panama (5-0)
Guatemala vs USA (0-0)

As expected, Mexico joined USA in the 2006 World Cup Finals after their 5-0 win against Panama took them to 19 points. Guatemala's failure to beat USA mean that Costa Rica (13pts) only need a draw in Guatemala (8pts) to be assured of the third-place spot (if Costa Rica lose at home to USA and Guatemala win in Mexico).

Saturday, 8th October 2005:
Costa Rica vs USA (3-0)
Mexico vs Guatemala (5-2)
Panama vs Trinidad & Tobago (0-1)

Costa Rica became the third team to qualify from the CONCACAF region after beating USA 3-0.

Wednesday, 12th October 2005:
Guatemala vs Costa Rica (3-1)
Trinidad & Tobago vs Mexico (2-1)
USA vs Panama (2-0)

Qualified for the 2006 World Cup Finals

Costa Rica, Mexico and USA.


Saturday, November 12th 2005:
Trinidad & Tobago vs Bahrain (1-1)

Wednesday, November 16th 2005:
Bahrain vs Trinidad & Tobago (0-1)

Trinidad & Tobago also qualify for the 2006 World Cup Finals.

Join Travel Notes on Facebook Please take a moment to like us on Facebook and share with your friends on social media.

Travel Notes Meta Search:  

World Cup Finals

Custom Travel Search

Travel Notes Hub

How many appearances each country has made in the World Cup Finals.

Car Hire Cruises Flights Hostels Hotels RTW Tours Vacations Weather Web Reservations
World Cup Home: World Cup Finals: Germany 2006: CONCACAF Qualification - Travel Apps