2026 - The World Unites in North America

Travel Writers - Writing About Travel

The Ball is Round The World of Football: World Cup Finals: United 2026.

The 2026 FIFA World Cup Finals will be jointly hosted by Canada, Mexico and the United States.

The United Bid won the hosting rights ahead of Morocco.

United 2026 - Canada, Mexico, United States

United 2026 will be the first time three nations have hosted the World Cup Finals as one.

The United Bid submitted a potential twenty-three cities with world-class facilities, from which a total of sixteen were selected for the tournament.

16 Host Cities

On 16th June, 2022, the sixteen host cities were announced by FIFA; separated into three geographical divisions: two in Canada, three in Mexico and eleven in the United States.

Eastern Division

Boston, Miami, New York City, Philadelphia and Toronto.

Central Division

Atlanta, Dallas, Houston, Kansas City, Mexico City and Monterrey.

Western Division

Guadalajara, Los Angeles, San Francisco, Seattle and Vancouver.

48 Teams

The 2026 FIFA World Cup Finals will be extended to accommodate a field of 48 teams.

48 national teams will be split into 16 groups of three, with the top two teams from each group advancing to a 32-team knockout stage.

80 Matches

With more teams comes more matches and the competition will expand from 64 to 80 matches.

The Hosts

The United States is expected to host sixty World Cup matches, while Canada and Mexico will potentially hold ten each.

Canada Soccer - Federación Mexicana de Fútbol Asociación - US Soccer.

If you find Travel Notes useful, please take a moment to like us on Facebook and share with your friends on social media.