Mapping out Cyberspace for the Internet Traveller -- Use The Travel Notes Directory.

Travel Notes -- Your Guide to Travel on the WWW.

Lowest Prices from

Travel Trivia:
How well do you know the world we live in? Try these ten travel questions to win $100.
Argentina have made it to the World Cup finals 11 times.

They dominated South American football in the 40s and 50s, but had to wait until they hosted the finals in 1978 to lift the trophy, and release tons of shredded paper in the air.

Argentina also won the World Cup in Mexico, 1986, inspired by the cheating hand of Maradonna; or was it God?

Argentina the country.

Official Squad:


1 Carlos ROA (Mallorca)
12 German BURGOS (River Plate)
17 Pablo CAVALLERO (Vélez Sarsfield)


6 Roberto SENSINI (Parma)
2 Roberto AYALA (Napoli)
22 Javier ZANETTI (Inter Milan)
3 José CHAMOT (Lazio)
13 Pablo PAZ (Tenerife)
14 Nelson VIVAS (Lugano)
4 Hector PINEDA (Udinese)


8 Diego SIMEONE (Inter Milan)
5 Matias ALMEYDA (Lazio)
11 Juan VERON (Sampdoria)
15 Leonardo ASTRADA (River Plate)
20 Marcelo GALLARDO (River Plate)
16 Sergio BERTI (River Plate)
10 Ariel ORTEGA (Valencia)


9 Gabriel BATISTUTA (Fiorentina)
7 Claudio LOPEZ (Valencia)
19 Hernan CRESPO (Parma)
21 Marcelo DELGADO (Racing Club)
18 Abel BALBO (AS Roma)

Coached by Daniel PASSARELLA

First Round

14th June vs. Japan

21st June vs. Jamaica

26th June vs. Croatia

2nd Round
30th June vs. England
(St Etienne)

1/4 Finals
4th July vs. Holland

Match Reports.

Group Tables.

Argentina were the only team to win all their group games without conceding a goal, then let in two against England and Holland.

Argentina were taken into extra-time by a ten man England side. Seventy-five minutes with the advantage, but Argentina had to rely on penalties to get them through to the quarter-finals against Holland; where their cheating finally let them down.

The Road to The Final:
Who played who,
when and where.

Argentina Links.

(Asociación del Fútbol Argentino)